THE FIG TREE – LA HIGUERA

Woman: a multitasking human

Mujer: humano con multifunciones

You tell me, isn’t it right, that in our inner circle there is always a woman that stands out by being a problem solver? That woman, regardless of the issue will find a solution, and that solution will be super duper practical. Not all women are built the same, for some it takes more effort to solve the unexpected. Nonetheless, that doesn’t make any of us worthless, that makes us different, and being different is totally normal, otherwise diversity would be extinct.

I am telling you about this because when I went to visit aunt Irene, a 70-year-old woman- I recalled the importance of being self-empowered to face the daily challenges, an ability we tend to forget. Since childhood, my sister and I have had the example of the women in our family – my mother being the first- and how they have handled the setbacks in life; in adulthood, many women have left their imprint as mega self-empowered ladies.

¿Si o si, todas conocemos a una mujer que sobresale para resolver problemas, ya sean grandes o pequeños? O una mujer a la que nada se le duerme, y además es mega duper práctica.  No todas las mujeres somos así, a algunas nos toma un esfuerzo extra para solucionar algún imprevisto. Sin embargo, eso no nos hace ni más ni menos, si no diferentes. Y ser diferente es normal, si no, no existiría la diversidad.

Y hablo de esto porque cuando visité a mi tía Irene, de 70 años, recordé lo importante de cultivar esta habilidad, que en ocasiones olvidamos, de ser movida y encontrarle solución a la vida. Desde pequeñas mi hermana y yo hemos observado como las mujeres de la familia -comenzando con mi mami- han sabido encontrarles solución a los problemas; ya de adulta, varias otras mujeres han tenido un impacto al darme su ejemplo de mujeres luchonas.

My aunt Irene, has always had the virtue of being very hospitable, she gives the best advice, she is an excellent cook, cares for others without expecting anything in return; her altruistic ways has earned the respect of all. My aunt Irene is not a common 70-year-old woman, in my humble eyes, at first glance she is a strong woman, even stronger than me.

Knowing that my favorite fruit is the fig, she invited me and my sister to go reap them off from her fig tree. But she sent us with specific instructions:

1) Remove ALL ripe figs from fig tree

2) Do not forget those who were surpassing the ceiling base

3) Wash them

4) Eat them

Mi tía Irene, siempre ha tenido la cualidad de ser hospitalaria, de dar buenos consejos, de ser una excelente cocinera, de cuidar por los demás sin esperar nada a cambio, su personalidad altruista se ha ganado el respeto de todos. Mi tía Irene no es una mujer de 70 años común, ante mis humildes ojos, a simple vista es una mujer fuerte, creo que más fuerte que yo.

Al saber que mi fruta favorita son los higos, mi tía nos invitó a mi hermana y a mi a ir a desprenderlos de su higuera. Pero nos mandó con instrucciones específicas:

  1. Desprender TODOS los higos maduros de la higuera
  2. No olvidar los que estaban sobrepasando el techo
  3. Lavarlos
  4. Comerlos

 

My dear and beautiful sister decided to do the dirty work for me, she climbed the ladder very determined to cut ALL the figs at sight (imagine her focused as if she was going to compete for Iron Man), I only cut those who were at my reach. My sister could not reach the figs that were on the highest branches of the tree, she stretched out her hand, reached for the branches, and she simply couldn’t reach them out, even on top of the ladder.

My aunt Irene noticed the commotion we were having, and came out. She came to save these helpless women by searching for her special device to reap figs, which is simply an elongated stick with a nail at the end. She did not find it, but instantly said: “There is nothing to worry about, I will make another one in a minute.” She, went into her storage room, grabbed a stick, grabbed a nail, and a hammer and Zaazz! The nail was secured with imminent force.

My sister and I were stunned.

Mi hermanita querida y hermosa decidió hacer el trabajo sucio por mi, y ella se subió a la escalera muy decidida a cortar TODOS los higos posibles (imaginen su cara tipo que iba a competir para Iron Man), su merced solo cortó los que estaban a mi alcance.

Total que mi hermana no alcanzaba los higos que estaban en las ramas más altas de la higuera, estiraba la mano, las ramas, las hojas y simplemente no alcanzaba aún arriba de la escalera. Mi tía Irene, se dio cuenta del alboroto que traíamos con los higos, y salió. Llegó ante estas inofensivas mujeres en busca de su aparato especial para cortar higos, que es simplemente un palo alargado con un clavo al final. No lo encontró. Y nos dice muy quitada de la pena “ahorita mismo hago uno”, se dirigió a su cuarto de almacenamiento, agarra un palo, agarra un clavo, y un martillo y ¡Zaazz! el clavo quedo asegurado con una fuerza inminente. Mi hermana y yo quedamos atónitas, ¿por qué no se nos ocurrió a nosotras?

My aunt said to my sister: “Get down the ladder please, I’m going to cut the figs.” Again we turn to each other, and secretly wonder: “what if my aunt falls?”. Well she did not fall, as a matter of fact she moved the ladder as many times as she required, she left no ripe fig in the tree, even if the fig was in the uttermost place of the universe, my aunt made sure to rip it off with her stick.

That afternoon we ate sweet figs, and that same afternoon we saw a woman who does not give up.

I learned that, just like my aunt, we must find a solution to whatever comes our way, this being at work, with emotional problems, in the day to day, in our personal relationships, as parents, with the family, or whatever situation arises.

It should not be easy to give up. Life has its challenges, the fig tree could represent life itself, the figs, the challenges, the tool you use to solve is up to you. In this case the tool that my aunt used was a simple stick with one nail.

It is within us the way we decide to move in the world.

Mi tía le dijo a mi hermana: “bájate de a escalera por favor, que yo voy a cortar los higos”. De nuevo nos volteamos a ver a una a la otra, ¿qué si mi tía se cae? No se cayó, movió la escalera cuantas veces requirió, no se quedó ningún higo maduro en la higuera, ya fuera que estuviese al fin del mundo mi tía se aseguró de arrancarlo con su palo. Esa tarde comimos higos dulces, y esa misma tarde vimos a una mujer de edad, fuerte, que no se da por vencida.

Aprendí, que igual que mi tía, hay que buscarle la solución a todo, ya sea en el trabajo, en los problemas sentimentales, en el día a día, con la pareja, con los hijos, con la familia, con lo que sea se presente. No debería de ser fácil darnos por vencidos. La vida tiene sus retos, la higuera es la vida, los retos los higos, la herramienta que uses para solucionarlos esta en cada uno, en este caso la herramienta que usó mi tía para solucionar el problema fue su palito con clavo.

NO TE RINDAS.

Do not give up.

Celia

 

IMG_2295IMG_2298IMG_2299IMG_2309IMG_2323IMG_2306IMG_2315IMG_2318IMG_2313IMG_2325IMG_2311IMG_2319IMG_2314

3 thoughts on “THE FIG TREE – LA HIGUERA

  1. What a wonderful story about your aunt. I love that you share her strength. She must be very proud of you and your sister.
    Also, I nominated you for the Liebster Award. Please accept if you can and have the time. No worries if not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

